RS Asia eRacing Winter Season’s finale was held at the Shanghai International Circuit last Friday and it was a thriller. After some of the best actions of the season, Philippines’ Luis Moreno successfully defended his sizeable points lead and took victory in Formula Renault.

Roadstar Racing Team’s Luis Moreno had a massive 28-point lead before coming into the season finale in Shanghai. Teammate Dillan Tan from Singapore is in 2nd overall but he would need Moreno to make mistakes in order to have a real chance to challenge it. The 11-year-old Singaporean driver took pole ahead of Moreno in Race 1 and hoped to score as much points as he could in the season finale.

At the start, Tan and Moreno both made good getaway and retained their lead with Owen Li following. A major pile-up again at the back saw several drivers lost valuable time and lost touch to the leading pack. The leading trio did not look back and kept extending their lead over others as these 3 drivers completed the podium for the third time in this season. Dillan Tan took his second race victory of the season, while Luis Moreno’s 2nd place kept him with a comfortable points lead at front. Owen Li is back to 3rd in points after coming 3rd in this race.

Race 2 started with a reverse-grid and the Philippines’ Zetrick Orate was on pole and took the early lead. Jay Yang from SGAN Motorsport was challenging him in Turn 1 but spun and created havoc in the corner, taking out Owen Li as a result. Roadstar Racing Team’s Terrence Lallave quickly sliced through the pack and took the lead in Lap 2, but his compatriot and championship leader Luis Moreno was in trouble. A rare mistake from him saw him spinning in Turn 1 and fell towards the end of top 10. At the same time, Dillan Tan climbed up to 2nd and looked set to create another championship turnaround, but Moreno kept his head together and managed to climbed through the field again and finished 3rd, securing the championship in style. Dillan Tan cut Terrence Lallave’s lead from 3 seconds to less than 1 second in the last lap but unable to make the move and had to settle for 2nd. He was 2nd overall in the championship and won the Youth Class by a comfortable margin. Terrence Lallave took his first victory of the season in the final race, completing a Roadstar Racing Team 1-2-3. For 3rd place in the championship, Jay Yang managed to pass Owen Li by 1 point in the standings, after both being involved in the first lap melee, securing 3rd in the championship.

The RS Asia eRacing Winter Season was a great success with a lot of great actions throughout the season. We will be back soon with more eRacing and motorsport actions soon. See you all later!