Formula Renault AsiaCup is an official Renault Sport Racing Series, organized and promoted by FRD and RS Asia. It is a FIA Asian Zone sanctioned race series.

Weekend Format

A race weekend features one thirty minute practice session and two twenty minute qualifying session, followed by two races of which each race is thirty minute plus one lap. One more twenty five minute plus one lap race is arranged for China rounds.

To allow more testing for drivers, Thursday and/or Friday will open for private testing. Official sessions will start on Saturday. (Subject to the circuit and/or event organizer, the official practice session may be scheduled on Friday)


Points will be awarded to the first fourteen classified finishers on the following basis: 30, 24, 20, 17, 15, 13, 11, 9, 7, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1.

Only registered drivers can score points.

Points will be awarded to the best two classified finishers for each registered competitor on a 10, 8, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 basis.


Drivers should be at least 16 years old.

Drivers must be in possession of a current and valid FIA international B or C License with valid Visa or, National License issued by their respective ASN within Asian zone


Teams should hold the license within Asian Zone.

Each team allows max. 4 cars.

Only car registered as full season entry can score point and qualified for team championship.

Tires Regulation

Max. of three sets of slick tires for each event except Asian rounds only two sets are allowed..

Use of rain tire is not controlled. Drivers/Teams should prepare at least one set of rain tire in each event.

Traction enhancing substance applied on the tire is forbidden.

Tire draw arranged before official practice of the race weekend.